Loose Lips.

People are talking to themselves a lot these days… out loud… In public.

What is odd, however, it’s been coming out of the mouths of a younger audience, say, people in there 20’s to 30’s… Why!? People are far to young to be so conditioned that you have no control over your thoughts and the subsequent phrases that pass their lips! I was on the bus the other day and this otherwise normal looking young man, carrying two bags of groceries, said something a long the lines of “you gotta be fucking kidding me?” when the bus driver stopped to let people on the bus… I glanced at him wondering who and why he thought somebody was kidding him, but it was no one… I think he was getting mad at the the bus driver for making all his stops… unusual, indeed.

… and when I sit beside somebody up at SFU, somebody who is working on what looks like a chemistry problem, talking to himself, out loud, in a quiet room, I get awkward because I feel like maybe I should start doing it! Make up a conversation or scenario in my head of such importance that I cannot help but proclaim it to the world… But that’s not quite it…  And what it honestly sounds like, is that they are physically and emotionally sorting things out in there minds, and the effect of their conclusions is forcing them to voice themselves… Is that okay? A part of me wants to say that it is, because perhaps holding it in is more damaging, but another part of me wants to ask them why they aren’t talking about these things with other human beings?

What sparked this entry was because somebody behind me in a computer lab was mumbling things to himself out loud… It didn’t bother me to much, but then this happened…

Guy – Hey man, you mind if read something out to you? I’m not sure if it’s worded correctly…

Me – Sure! what is it?….

The guy starts raping at me, not ferociously, but with enthusiasm. He reads the words off his computer screen. I listened till it was done, I responded,

Me – That sounded good! Some parts flowed better then others, but otherwise it was a good job.

Guy – Yeah… Thanks man.

Now… If i was to say what was really going through my head during this spontaneous rap, it probably would of been a good ol “are you fucking kidding me?!” (not so unlike the young man with the groceries on the bus) But i didn’t, more afraid of him being  psycho, I went a long with it… IS THERE A PROBLEM HERE?! I don’t get it… Maybe I should start talking to myself to blend in… nobodies gonna say anything back to me.

Not a big deal I suppose, although for some reason I feel guilty, as if my purposefully straying eyes was the tipping point to cause this outburst. But perhaps herein lays the problem. In a world were communication connects us to one another whether we like it or not, perhaps we are forgetting about the importance of human interaction. I stray my eyes from strangers for fear of entering into a conversation, such as the one I heard on the bus today that went, “I was thinking about shaving my beard… do you think I’m due for a hair cut? Well if you have oppressive parents like mine, you’d cut your hair to!”… Luckily a young woman was taking the brunt of this one. But maybe if we were not so afraid of one another in the flesh, then we wouldn’t have to talk to our selves.

Either way, I’m going to document it as it happens. This shit is to funny to ignore.

Leave a Reply

